Testimonials

Here's what some of our clients have been saying about us!

John Southern, Principal Architect, Urban Operations

I wanted to congratulate you both on all of the hard work you put into selling our home at 817 Silver Lake Boulevard last summer. Your tenacity and experience were invaluable to securing a respectable offer for our property. Andrew, your finite knowledge of the market coupled with Michael’s enthusiasm and outreach really got the home exposure it could not have enjoyed with another agent or Real Estate firm. In addition, the range of comps you provided made us feel comfortable with the final sale price. In addition, the time and focus you both put into the preparation and staging of our home was integral during the closing phase, and in my opinion, produced a sale without complications. I strongly believe this was due to your collective experience and attention to detail, which is not necessarily a quality one finds in many agents in the Los Angeles area. Should the opportunity arise to work together again, I will certainly contact the two of you for a consultation.

John Southern, Founding Principal, Urban Operations
 

Natalie Bookchin and Robert Bullock

We worked with Andy Jelmert and Michael Locke to sell our much-loved Echo Park house in Spring 2015 and cannot recommend them highly enough.  This was our first home, and Andy and Michael patiently and expertly walked us through everything from getting the house ready for sale and creating a marketing strategy to negotiating with multiple multiple bidders, getting a contract signed, and managing the reams of paperwork all the way through closing. This was all the more challenging because we are in NY and everything had to be handled remotely. Andy and Michael are highly experienced, highly principled, and incredibly patient. They are also extremely effective: we received multiple bids and accepted an offer well above asking, all within two days of listing  When we are looking again on the CA market, Andy and Michael will be our first call.

Natalie Bookchin is an artist based in Los Angeles, California. She is well known for her work in media, and serving as the co-Director of the Photography and Media Program in the Art School at California Institute of the Arts. She has also previously taught at the University of California, San Diego.

Alex and Emme Parsons, Newlyweds Relocating from New York City to Los Angeles

"The LA rental market is extremely competitive, especially for well-maintained, single family homes. When we saw the listing for our house we called Michael immediately and he worked closely with us to ensure we had all of the correct paper work and made the entire process smooth and efficient. His involvement in the community enhanced our vision and appreciation of the neighborhood. We would highly recommend using Locke & Partners as trusted realtors."

 

Bill Clintworth, Associate Dean, Health Sciences Libraries

"This was the third time we have turned to Andy Jelmert and Michael Locke to handle a real estate transaction for us.  We knew from our previous experiences that they would provide outstanding service from start to finish.  And this time was no exception.  Michael expertly photographed our property to create a beautiful portfolio of our home.  We received an offer the first day along with a huge response to the webpage.  We received our asking price and closed escrow within our expected timeframe but only because of their expertise and diligence in negotiating several unexpected hurdles".

-Bill Clintworth, Associate Dean, Health Sciences Libraries, University of Southern California & David Arriola

Film and Television Marketing Executive Chelsea Spalding

"Working with Michael Locke was an absolute dream.  Initially, we expected this process to be a hassle as we had flown in from out of state.  After all, we had a limited amount of time to find a location for a price within our budget.  Luckily, we got in touch with Michael who worked day and night to help us sign on a house that exceeded our expectations.  We are still shocked as to how easy he made the entire process.  Not only did he work over the weekend, but on a holiday as well to help us secure the location we wanted.  I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of a realtor in the Los Angeles area!"

 

Thanks for Selling our Property & Making this Wonderful Home Possible for Us

Hello Andy,
 
We are writing to thank you for all your help with the sale of our property and the purchasing of another.  You represented us before with other real estate matters, so we were aware of your track record.  But this particular occasion was tricky because the clock was ticking and we had to find a house we liked and in an area we liked, convenient to our work and at a price point we could manage.  We looked at many houses in many different areas and you made yourself available for each one.  You asked intelligent and pertinent questions about each property.
 
With the current market, competition from other buyers was intense and we were not prepared to bid on a property and find that there were 15 other offers.  But you helped us get through that ordeal within the time frame to which we had committed.  You also helped through all the paperwork making sure we understood everything we were signing.  You made this wonderful house possible for us.
 
Once again thank you for your experience and professionalism.  If any of your potential clients need a referral, by all means give them our telephone number.
 
Gary Guarino & Bob Newman, Owners
Plant Systems Nurseries & Gardens, Landscape Architects 

Mica Campbell, FourWalls LA

I recently worked with Michael on the sale of one of my client's properties. He brought the buyers to the table and managed to keep them on board and calm throughout a very challenging escrow. In addition, he compromised and collaborated with me to find solutions to keep the deal together. It was a pleasure to work with Michael and I hope to be in business again with him soon!!

Film Editor Ron Medico and Kevin Cooke

"The friendly team of Michael Locke and Andy Jelmert has made our home selling experience a pleasure.  Both Mike and Andy are true professionals, very thoughtful and have guided us each step of the way with their gentle assurance.  We sold our home within days and for the asking price we had hoped for prior to signing up with them.  Well done!"

Film Editor Ron Medico and his partner Kevin Cooke, after selling their Jeremy Levine-designed Craftsman home in Silver Lake and retired, moving to Jacksonville, Florida   

Priscilla Stultz, Managing Librarian at O'Melveny & Myers

Working with Michael Locke and Andy Jelmert made my home buying experience a great one. As a first time home buyer, I had a million questions and concerns. Both Michael and Andy had  endless amounts of patience, answering all of my questions and making sure I was comfortable with each step of the process. As a team, they made sure that I had all of the facts and information so I could make the best decision. And they were there for all of it,  from looking at properties to the home inspection, throughout the loan process and finally, to the day I took possession of my very own home! I could not have done this without the two of them.  I highly recommend them to anyone, experienced or not, who need reliable, trustworthy and honest realtors. Thank you Michael and Andy!

John Herzog, Actor & Managing Director, Los Angeles Repertory Company

Michael Locke and Andy Jelmert couldn't have been more understanding and helpful in the recent sale of my deceased brother's house. I had no previous experience with real estate sales or probate issues and they guided me through every step with patience and understanding. In a difficult market, they never failed to keep me informed and looking ahead with enthusiasm. Their skills in presenting the property are unmatched, from Michael's brilliant photos to Andy's vast experience and knowledge.

I am very grateful for their assistance and I would recommend the Locke Group without hesitation to anyone needing top notch Realtors.

John Herzog, Trustee, Robert Herzog Estate

 

Chris Harrington, Harrington Family Trust

Michael Locke and Andy Jelmert represented my mother and me in the sale of our family home in the Los Feliz Hills. The service they provided was outstanding. They were successful in getting us a very good price for the property in a relatively short time and they and their agency provided efficient, helpful support throughout the sale process. I am most grateful to them, however, for their kindness and sensitivity in dealing with my mother and me in what was an emotionally difficult transition. In addition to performing all the routine steps in listing, showing, and selling our home, they went out of their way to assist me in clearing out and preparing the house prior to closing. As I was managing most of the final steps in the sale of our home by long distance, this level of service made all the difference in my being able to avoid additional travel to LA. I cannot thank them enough. Chris Harrington, December 2011

Louise Friesen Foss, Trustee Friesen Family Trust

I would like to recommend Michael Locke to anyone who is in need of a very
qualified real estate agent.  The sale of my mother's house was so quick and
effortless, I could not believe it.  The web page with the photos of the house
was very impressive.  After the first open house there were numerous offers.  We
had a fast 30 day escrow without any complications.  Michael explained
everything and walked me through the whole process.  Michael was very easy to
work with and followed up right away.  Thank you Michael--it was a pleasure to
work with you.


-Louise Foss (pictured with the buyers of her family home in Glendale, Japanese Film Director Toru Tokikawa and his family and Michael Locke)

Raymond Neutra •Owner at Raymond Richard Neutra Consultants

There are people who use their curiosity, skills and gregariousness for the common good by linking people and spreading good news. Malcolm Gladwell, in his book "The Tipping Point" calls such people "Connectors".  Michael Locke is a connector whose enthusiastic efforts have done a great deal to create community in the Silver Lake area where I grew up.  Those of us who are working to help Cal Poly Pomona College of Environmental Design to restore and reprogram the Richard and Dion Neutra Studio and Residences have been greatly helped by Michael's ability to let the community know about that effort.  I now live in northern California but keep track of doings in my childhood stomping grounds through his postings.  Raymond Richard Neutra MD

Tracy A. Stone AIA, •Co-Chair at AIA Committee on the Environment

"Michael has a deep commitment to Los Angeles and to the neighborhoods he represents. His involvement in real estate includes active support of the community through blogs and participation in community events. I especially appreciate his love for the architectural history of the city and his promotion of quality architecture."  Pictured at a reception for Martin Schall in Silver Lake, October 2007 co-hosted by Michael Locke and Design Vidal.

Barbara Lamprecht, Senior Architectural Historian at Jones & Stokes

 "Michael Locke represents the best kind of Realtor. He studies areas, neighborhoods, architects, and buildings with an incredible passion that is heartfelt as well as being good business. Michael is an astute marketer of properties, but also serves his buying clients thoroughly until house and client are a perfect fit. He is honest, highly focused, and admired in the community, which he serves in many ways. I am proud to know him."

Barry Milofsky, •Partner at M2A Milofsky Michali & Cox Architects

“Michael has an unparralleled knowledge of the Silver Lake, Los Feliz and Echo Park communities. His appreciation of the areas unique architecture, and his timeless efforts to maintain a public awareness of its unique quality and characteristics has contributed to the quality of life and local visual environment.

Combined with his knowledge of the market and extensive network of contacts, Michael is a unique resource in the local Real Estate community.”  (seen in the photo with Luis De Avila and Donna Locke at the Grand Opening of the new Silver Lake Library, November 16, 2009).

Janet Sternburg (Lavine) and Steven D. Lavine

"We had no idea what the real estate PROFESSION was like until we worked with Andy, Michael and Donna.  I (Janet) thought it was about showing a house to a prospective buyer, and convincing that person to buy it (well, perhaps not quite that naive, but close to it).  I never imagined the many abilities and talents that are required when one is working at the top of the profession, as does Andy, Michael and Donna.  Then too I'd never imagined the wisdom, gentle intelligence, analytical skills, total reliability, willingness to extend themselves, sense of personal involvement (but never intruding),...shall I go on?  I'm tempted to, but I'm afraid this won't be seen as truthful, which it very much is.  We learned about Andy, Michael and Donna from friends; we are now passing on the reference to all our friends.  Along the way, each person--Andy, Michael, Donna--became distinct and complimentary personalities, and now friends.  Oh, by the way, we bought one house, sold it, and bought another, all the arrangements and complexities smoothly and rapidly negotiated and concluded!"

"Thank you, Andy, Michael and Donna for your good taste, hard work and extra commitment that made the sale of our house such a triumph!"

Janet Sternburg (Lavine)  -Writer and Photographer
Steven D. Lavine  -President, California Institute of the Arts

Rob Poston - owner of Avatar Computer Consulting

"Working with Michael Locke is a real pleasure.  He did a fantastic job of marketing my home with professional flyers, advertising on his websites, and open houses that had tons and tons of people coming through.  I had multiple offers in a few days and got over my asking price!  Since then he has helped me transition into investment property and even several months after closing escrow, he has continued to help me with any questions or problems that I may have.  He recently helped me secure a bank-owned historic residence in West Adams (the C.E. Kestor Residence designed by John Parkinson in 1901) where I currently reside."  -Rob  (and Jenny) Poston  

-Terry Brewer Humorist & Author: "Up Periscope: Keeping Your Perspective Above Sea Level"

"Thanks to Michael Locke and Andy Jelmert, I now own my dream home and have purchased 5 investment properties in just 8 years.  Professionals like Andy & Michael are not only  a pleasure to work with, they know a great deal about the local real estate market and have a gift for making the complex easily understandable for both first time buyers as well as seasoned investors.  I highly recommend Andy and Michael to anyone considering a real estate purchase.  I wouldn't think of buying or selling without their expertise."

-Marge Dyer Lodi, CA

"I couldn't have made a better choice in selecting Andy, Michael  and Donna to sell my mother's house.  The sale went so smoothly and quickly that I had little time to reflect on my family's home of 57 years.  The marketing was superbly done, and there were multiiple bids on the property one day after the public open house.  While the paperwork involved in the sale of the house was sometimes overwhelming, everything was explained carefully and honestly.  All three of them went well beyond the normal duties of real estate agents in guiding me gently through the paperwork process, helping me empty the house of its contents, and working tirelessly through to completion.  Since I live nearly 300 miles away from this Southern California house, much of the process had to be carried on over the phone or by e-mails and faxes.  Absolutely nothing was done without my approval and notification.  I feel as though I've known them for years, and now consider them all friends rather than just the people who sold the house."

Jason Lyon •Vice Chair, Neighborhood Council Review Commission at City of Los Angeles

“Michael's generosity, patience and goodwill are seemingly unending. During his term on the Silver Lake Neighborhood Council, his love for our community was in evidence in everything he did, whether it was serving on the Executive Committee as Vice Chair and organizing special events, or founding the neighborhood Beautification Committee. I can't recommend him highly enough.” January 16, 2010

Robert J. Menz. •Financial Planner / Life and Health Insurance at Elite Financial Network

“Michael is incredibly knowledgable of and involved in the Los Feliz and Silverlake real estate markets. I was impressed by his professionalism, expertise, and welcoming approach. His knowledge of architecture, design and historical perspective complement his understanding of current markets.” December 27, 2010

-Terence Ford & Antonio Martinez Contreras, Silver Lake

"Right from the get-go we knew that Michael and Andy were the ones to sell our condo.  At the first interview they showed they knew their business and set out a schedule that seemed do-able and yet promised to move things along quickly.  The following few weeks we just gave in to Michael's requests as to how best to show the place.  Amazingly, the day after the condo opened to the public we had an offer over list, and Andy and Michael shepherded it through the various processes so well that I had my money in the bank three months after our first meeting.  I would recommend these guys to anyone."

Peter Bedard •Executive Producer at Create Your Health

“Michael is a visionary. He has held a vision for the neighborhood we work and live in and has positively affected thousands of lives through the work he does. He is a great resource and supporter for change and empowerment and his publication, the Silver Lake News, is a great community bulletin board. Michael is a true neighbor and a powerful activist.” June 9, 2008

Avery Rome - Editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer

"I wanted to thank you for your committed and steady good work on my  behalf in selling my  property in the Hollywood Hills.  If ever there was a tough real estate assignment, this was it.  A quarrel between me and the other owner of the property; his absence from the premises and state, rendering him incommunicado; the property therefore in not the best shape; a tenant to contend with, along with a big uncared-for dog; and me 3,000 miles away.

Nonetheless, you got us higher than the asking price and $127,000 more than an offer we'd been prepared to take.  You dealt with a common pleas court judge and her referee and beat every possible deadline put before you---and there were many.

I do thank you for your kindness and conscientious handling of this matter.  We couldn't be happier, and we felt in good hands all the way through. I believe the results speak to your talent and professionalism.

Many thanks,

Avery Rome
Editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Wayne, PA

Laura Massino Smith •Owner at Architecture Tours L.A.

“Michael and I worked together with the Silver Lake Chamber of Commerce. He is a great supporter of the community and an enthusiastic team player.
Michael is always interested in what is happening in the neighborhood and keeps up with it all. He is also very good about letting other people know what is happening around town.” August 30, 2009

Ozzie & Helen Ostendorf, Glendale, CA

"Sincere thanks for all your love and kindness.  For the help in finding furnishings, for pictures, for not giving up on us, and getting us our beautiful new home.  Most of all for being our loving adopted kids.  We love you and are grateful for all you have done."

Much Love,

Ozzie & Helen Ostendorf, Glendale, CA

(downsized from a large family home to a condominium to enjoy their "Golden Years")

Joe & Kelly Butler

"When we were thinking of a realtor to help us sell our home, we wanted to make sure that it was going to be someone who would "take care of things" and handle all the little details.  Not only did we find one person, we found three extraordinary people in the Jelmert-Locke Group that addressed all our needs and concerns.  We sold our home in seven days and closed within a month.  We were extremely pleased with the entire process.  The attention we received made us feel that we were their top priority!

Thanks again to the Jelmert-Locke Group!"

Joe & Kelly Butler

Eagle Rock, CA (now living in Cleveland, OH)

Dorsay Dujon, Executive Director, Living Art Los Angeles

Michael’s knowledge and love of Los Angeles gives him an edge. His ability to listen and go the "extra mile", coupled with his appreciation of the area's architecture are a real plus.  His photographs speak for themselves, capturing the beauty and essence of his subjects. His work is a great inspiration.

Dorsay is pictured (on the right) with Donna Locke, Carol Eng and Ruth Beaglehole at a recent  "Kites Over Silver Lake" Festival.  Dorsay was Event Director.

- Stephanie Limbaugh (Angelino Heights)

"Thank you" seems such a small thing to say in exchange for what you have been through with me the last few months.  Your faith, patience, determination and optimism were the deciding factors in this instance-of that I'm sure.  I would have given up a long time ago!  Thank you so very, very much!"

Harvey Hayashida & Richard Jeffery

Dear Andy, Donna and Mike:

We've been homeowners for three weeks now and still aren't settled in, but we now have some time to relax and want to take the time to express our appreciation.

It's funny but the things we thought would be easy, like getting a phone and cable and getting out of our previous house proved incredibly difficult, and the things we thought would be stressful, like the physical move itself, turned out to be simple. In fact, the movers we found were so good we'd be happy to recommend them.  But the things that we knew would be easy and fun and were both, were the finding of the house and its actual purchase.  That was because of the representation we had.  Thank you.  You made it fun and easy and found the perfect house for us.  We both love it.  And the dogs love it.

They especially love the back yard.  Kuma has never gotten so much exercise. And while Kuma doesn't seem to understand the sprinkler system, both Denver and Rose love running through them whenever they turn on.  We've met many of our neighbors and already have been invited to a nearby party.  It's a great community; I'm sure we're going to be very happy here.

Again, thank you for all of your help.  Thank you for allowing us to use your condo during our search.  And not to forget, thank you for the lovely house warming basket.  After all of your kindness and assistance, it was not necessary, but very kind and thoughtful of you--thank you.

Harvey Hayashida & Richard Jeffery  -relocated to Palm Springs from West Hollywood and San Clemente

Betty Graham, President & COO, Coldwell Banker Greater Los Angeles Company

"Many sales associates in our company contribute an amazing amount of energy, time and money to various charitable organizations across the world, and I wanted you to know that your manager, Lori Ramirez, recognizes that you are a person who stands out in terms of generosity of spirit.

Your active involvement in your community with your partner, Michael Locke, has not gone without notice, and I simply want to acknowledge to you that I have an immense appreciation for what you do for several charities, as well as the professional manner in which you conduct your life as a realtor.  Thank you, Andy, for raising the standards of Coldwell Banker and the industry in this regard.

Your reputation is stellar, and your upbeat attitude goes a long way toward helping your colleagues get through what can be challenging times in their careers.

Your quiet contributions to the various drives made choosing a winner this year difficult, but the Westside/Southbay Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage 2007 President's Award of Excellence was finally given to Al Scafati in Palos Verdes for the good work he has done.

I congratulate you on your nomination and want you to know how proud and grateful we are to have you in our company.  Thank you for all you do."

Candace Kentopian, •Marketing Consultant at Right On Track

“Michael Locke exudes a passion for his profession of real estate and values buildings of architectural beauty and historic craftsmanship. He is a consummate real estate professional and a fabulous photographer. His social and professional activities reflect his dedication to, and knowledge of, his trade. It is a pleasure to know, work and socialize with Michael Locke.” December 29, 2010

Glen Dake •Green Deputy at City of Los Angeles, Office of Councilmember Eric Garcetti

“Michael's work speaks for itself. He captures events in ways that show their color and interest to readers and to the benefit of everyone participating.” June 9, 2008

Anise Stevens, English Professor at Pasadena City College

Michael Locke and Andy Jelmert made my condo selling experience the easiest ever. This is because Michael and Andy brought me a qualified buyer with an amazing offer. I didn’t even need to list my property. Also to note, Michael and Andy’s wealth of experience and love for architecture well qualify their expertise in the field.  


Sitemap:


Deasy/Penner & Partners
200 S. Los Robles Avenue • Pasadena, CA 91101
MOBILE (323) 533-3161 • HOME OFFICE (323) 644-3338



Los Feliz/ Atwater VillageSilverlake/ Echo ParkGlendale